Henri Cartier Bresson’s 1933 photograph Inside the sliding doors of the bullfight arena got me to thinking about bullfights, which in turn made me think of the Surrealistic interpretations of same by the Spaniard, Pablo Picasso.

Rather luckily, I thought,  I found Bullfight: Death of the Torero, which Picasso painted in 1933, the very same year Bresson photographed inside the bullfight arena in Valencia!

“Bullfight: Death of the Torero.” Picasso, Pablo. 1933.

As it turns out, it seems Picasso was obsessed by the bullfight. The theme is  prolific in many of his various periods – the pastels of the 1900s, to pen and inks, to surrealism and Cubism.

I even found an ambitious on-line research paper, The Pastel Beginning of the Bleak Guernica: Study of Bullfight Themes by Namita Bisaria on a princeton.edu  blog.  She describes the horse, in his later studies, as a tragic character sacrificed to the bull with the picador as a causality casualty.

Indeed, the horse in Bullfight: Death of the Torero screams in terror and is as much a focal point as the horse’s severed head in Guernica. …

And I think that is as far as I’ll take this post today.

……………………………………………………………………………..

UPDATE (Thursday):  Misspelling of casualty corrected.

