Weirsdo, whom I introduced on my Flipside Florida website in The Introduction is, in reality, Dr. Lorna Wood.  I thank her today for her comments, and, would like to show her my gratitude by sharing her comment and my reply on the The Eccentric Aubrey Beardsley.

WEIRSDO: I have seen the whole SALOME when researching for my dissertation (on Oscar Wilde, Joe Orton, and Tom Stoppard). Can only imagine the LYSISTRATA in its entirety.

KAREN: I can find a Lysistrata in its entirety. I’ll post it for you.

Aubrey Beardsley - Lysistrata shielding her Coynte

LYSISTRATA by Aristophanes 410 B.C.

Credit: EServer Drama Collection 

anonymous translator

CHARACTERS IN THE PLAY

LYSISTRATA
CLEONICE
MYRRHINE
LAMPITO
MAGISTRATES
CINESIAS
CHILD OF CINESIAS
HERALD OF THE LACEDAEMONIANS
ENVOYS OF THE LACEDAEMONIANS
AN ATHENIAN CITIZEN
CHORUS OF OLD MEN
CHORUS OF WOMEN

(SCENE:-At the base of the Orchestra are two buildings, the house of LYSISTRATA and the entrance to the Acropolis; a winding and narrow path leads up to the latter. Between the two buildings is the opening of the Cave of Pan. LYSISTRATA is pacing up and down in front of her house.) …

