Tags

,

The inspiration for this post arrives, thankfully, via John Ptak of Ptak Science Books in Asheville, N.C.  He tweeted a link to photos taken by Stanley Kubrick posted on the website RETRONAUT . 

CHICAGO, 1949 BY STANLEY KUBRICK

21. Lingerie model, wearing a girdle and strapless bra, smoking in an office; in te background a woman sits at a desk.

“Before he started making movies, Stanley Kubrick was a star photojournalist. In the summer of 1949, Look magazine sent him to Chicago to shoot pictures for a story called “Chicago City of Contrasts.”
– Chicago Tribune

There are 34 photos and other than “All images from the Library of Congress. Thank you to Katie Nichols”; the headline and two (attributed)  sentences are the only copy on the page. As I found out for Alien Rodeo, the comments section is very interesting and  informative.

BJMe said, “I don’t know how these pix rate as photojournalism or how they satisfied LOOK’s assignment, but having my own memories of Chicago and some of the actual locations I can say they they capture nothing of the essence of Chicago as I experienced it.”

If I were to reply I would say, “I’m pretty sure LOOK didn’t use all 34 photos”.

11. Unidentified man standing among a group of men following the developments on the trade board at the Merchandise Mart

April  27, 2011 at 9:05 am:  Allan said,  “There are all amazing, but photos 21, 33, 27, 29, 6, 22 are have been mislabled by you. The Merchandise Mart is a shopping center. These pictures are actually of the Chicago Mercantile Exchange or Chicago Board of Trade. Thanks for sharing.” 

April 27, 2011 at 9:19 am: Chris replied, “Hi Allan – Thanks for raising this. I took the labels from the Library of Congress, which uses the term “merchandise mart”, as you can see:”

[links posted]

10. Three unidentified men making notes while working the floor at the Merchandise Mart

April 27, 2011 at 11:51 am: Allan said, “Thanks Chris…looks like I need to talk with the Library of Congress about this (NOTE: I work for CME Group). I’ve shared the post internally and with a number of traders who all love this great find of yours. Allan”

April 27, 2011 at 1:23 pm: Chris replied, “Thanks Allan. It would be extremely cool to think that your comments altered the LOC records.”

I agree, Chris, extremely cool.  

♠♠♠

NOTE: The photo captions are all hover-overs.  Allan reported the negative number on 1949 Stanley Kubrick photographs.


