Tags

There is a painstakingly detailed webpage biography claiming to be “condensed mostly from the biography written by Bruno Ernst for the book M.C. Escher – His Life and Complete Graphic Work, © 1981″

Print for Adria Shipping Co., M. C. Escher, 1936

Print for Adria Shipping Co., M. C. Escher, 1936

I sincerely hope Escher did not sit down with Ernst to retell every moment of his life [see NOTE below].

To continue:

In early 1936, Escher was determined to take a trip back through southern Europe. He wrote to a shipping company, and offered to make prints of the company’s ships and their ports of call, in exchange for free passage on the company vessels.

To his surprise, the Adria shipping company accepted the offer, and at the end of April he left for Trieste. At the Adria offices, he was treated with great deference and courtesy. 

WikiPaintings says the title of the print (right) is Undetected, but I’m pretty sure it is one of the nine or so woodcuts Escher did for Adria. I’m not sure, though, what the black lattice in the forefront is but it is the same (or slightly askew) pattern as the rest of the bridge or cargo crane or whatever that structure is. 

More importantly, Still Life with Street (below) was based on a sketch from this trip. It is his first impossible reality and I think it is one of my favorites. I also think he achieves the opposite effect of black lattice — Escher is looking out of a room with no walls.

Still Life with Street, M.C. Escher, 1937

Still Life with Street, M.C. Escher, 1937

The fact that, from 1938 onward, I concentrated more on the interpretation of personal ideas was primarily the result of my departure from Italy. In Switzerland, Belgium, and Holland where I successfully established myself, I found the outward appearance of landscapes and architecture to be less striking than those which are particularly to be seen in the southern part of Italy. Thus I felt compelled to withdraw from the more or less direct and true-to-life illustrating of my surroundings. — M. C. Escher, 1960 book introduction

♠♠♠

NOTE: M. C. Escher died in 1972 so it may be an impossible reality for him to retell every moment of life to Bruno Ernst for a 1981 biography.

