Tags

,

As I mentioned two posts ago, Edward Land, the inventor of  the Polaroid, had placed famed landscape photographer Ansel Adams on a monthly retainer as a consultant back in 1949. 

I don’t think I saw this Ansel SX70 “self-portrait” at the exhibit; I would have remembered because it’s distinctly not a landscape. It looks almost (Alfred) Hitchcockian.

Self-Portrait, c. 1971, Polaroid SX-70 photograph, image 3 1/4 x 3 inches, © Photograph by Ansel Adams.

Self-Portrait, c. 1971, Polaroid SX-70 photograph, image 3 1/4 x 3 inches, © Photograph by Ansel Adams.

Where I’m going with this is the year the photo is taken: 1971. Land introduced the SX70 at a company meeting in April 1972, so Adams is taking this picture with a prototype. Pretty cool, huh?

♠♠♠

NOTE: Plus this is a pivotal post to Ansel Adams and Polaroid, in general.

