Tags

,

National Geographic‘s new photo archive, Found, is a curated collection of photography from the National Geographic archives created in honor of Nat Geo’s 125th anniversary. It’s a tumblr blog and  James’s, a blogger at The Wall Breakers‘ favorite new photo archive. I’m glad he told me to check out some select photos. There are more photos on his post than mine, but I thought these two a smart set for the day after Labor Day Weekend.

Summer doesn’t officially end until Sept. 21st, but leaves will be turning to orange, gold, and red somewhere, most likely in Maine, and apples are ripening throughout the Northeast. I love the leather football cap the young man on the left is wearing atop his head, which in turn reminds me that College football has already started and last night the Seminoles beat Pitt in a 41 -13 rout.

Four boys bob for apples in Martinsburg, West Virginia, 1939. -  Photograph by B. Anthony Stewart.

Four boys bob for apples in Martinsburg, West Virginia, 1939. – Photograph by B. Anthony Stewart.

Not too far away from Martinsburg, West Virginia and two years earlier in Lancaster, Pennsylvania, the below four Amish children are sitting on their front stoop. I guess the two older on the left just got home from school so that’s why they’re wearing shoes and the two younger children are not. Suspenders and hats, apparently, are a must for boys at any age.

I can’t tell if this 1937 photo was colorized, but it seems to be in comparison to the 1939 photo of four boys bobbing for apples in West Virginia. I have no idea what type of film was used for either picture.

An informal group portrait of Amish children in Lancaster County, Pennsylvania, 1937. Photograph by J. Baylor Roberts.

An informal group portrait of Amish children in Lancaster County, Pennsylvania, 1937. Photograph by J. Baylor Roberts.

♠♠♠

NOTE:  I’m looking forward to more of Found. I just started following their blog.

