.
The featured art work to begin a few posts on Wassily Kandinsky should not be a 1901 Art Nouveau advertising lithograph for A.I. Abrikosov & Sons, Ltd.
.
But it does introduce the horse-and-rider motif which, according to the Guggenheim, “symbolized his crusade against conventional aesthetic values and his dream of a better, more spiritual future through the transformative powers of art.”
.   
Poster for Abrikosov Company, Wassily Kandisky 1901

Poster for Abrikosov Company, Wassily Kandisky 1901

Red in Kandinsky’s color theory represents the sound of a trumpet confidently striving toward a goal. Here I guess Kandinsky’s goal would be the purchase of box of candy from A.I. Abrikosov & Sons, Ltd.  

My goal was to introduce the concept of Kandinsky as a composer of color theory as I publish a Monday post which I missed last week because it was Memorial Day weekend.  

♠♠♠ 

 Color is the keyboard, the eyes are the harmonies, the soul is the piano with many strings. The artist is the hand that plays, touching one key or another, to cause vibrations in the soul.

Wassily Kandinsky

 

